Right hip scope post op day 4

I haven’t been able to get around blogging until today, several days later than I had planned, but oh well, here it is 🙂  Monday evening Yago and I made the 2 hour drive down to Columbus to stay the night at an area hotel.  I had received the call that my hospital arrival time wasn’t until 10 am, so I was worried about being hungry the next morning knowing I wouldn’t be eating for probably 24 hours (yikes!) and wanted to eat a big dinner to try to hold me over as long as possible.  Well that wish was granted!  We went to a fondue place called The Melting Pot and ‘oh my goodness’ I think I ate a whole days worth of food in that meal………at least it felt like it!  We arrived at our hotel at 9pm and watched TV and hung out, then I washed with my special pre-op soap, and turned in around midnight.  I was trying to go to bed late and sleep as late as possible so I wouldn’t be hungry, but as usual I woke up early (5 am, ugh) due to pain in my hips and low back.  I laid in bed another 3.5 hours, but couldn’t really sleep due to the pain.  I washed again with my pre-op soap and then we hit the road.  We arrived at the hospital right at 10am and I was immediately taken back to pre-op.

Pre-op is a pretty boring place, usually you spend about 2 hours back there.  You give a urine sample to rule out pregnancy, get changed into the hospital gown/hat/socks, get stuck with an IV, get your vitals monitored, talk with the nurse, anesthesiologist, physician assistant, and eventually the surgeon comes in and signs your leg, and signs off on your papers.  Once that happens you get a green sticker on your bed and wait for the OR nurses to pick you up and give you the first round of sedative.  With my left hip scope I don’t remember anything after being wheeled out of the pre-op room, with my left PAO I remember being wheeled into the OR but nothing after that.  This time I felt almost nothing with the sedative and clearly remember being wheeled into OR room 6, meeting the whole operating room staff, climbing onto the OR table, and getting my arms restrained onto arm boards.  I was worried they were not going to knock me out, but thankfully shortly after the arm board strapping I went out and remember nothing until waking up in post-op.  Post-op is extremely hazy to me, I don’t remember my nurse or even Yago coming in to sit with me.  I think they drugged me up on dilaudid pretty heavy due to pain.  I think I got to my room around 6-7 pm and was able to eat some dinner.  I had low BP which they were worried about and monitored me pretty closely all night.  I felt so tired I think I went to sleep by 8pm, and fell right back as soon as the staff left my room each time during their visits every 1-2 hours all night long.  On Wednesday I still felt very tired, dizzy, lightheaded, and could not keep my eyes open more than 15 minutes.  I slept most of the day until 3:30.  The staff was worried about my BP, especially because I was so symptomatic.  I was running 80’s/40’s, and at one time was like 88/37.  They kept giving me tons of IV with fluids and as the day went by I improved some.  The medical dr that took over my case wanted me to stay another night to monitor the BP as well as my hemoglobin which started post op at 11 and dropped to 10.6 by Wednesday.  I agreed because I didn’t want to push things and go against what the medical staff and my surgeon were recommending.  I forgot to mention in the morning Dr. Ellis had stopped in to say I did NOT need the PAO on the right hip (big YEAH!!) and that he had taken a huge amount of bony impingement off my femoral head, a little off the socket, and put 3 anchors in my labrum to reattach it (and my whole hip for that matter) back to the socket.  There was one small spot with a little worn cartilage, but overall the hip was in good condition now that he fixed it up.  Great, great news!

Wednesday night was similar as I was woken up a bunch, but this time my catheter had been taken out, so I needed to get up to pee a couple of times (they were pumping me so full of fluid due to my low BP) and needed to wait on staff to help me up and back to bed since I was considered a “fall risk.”  Thursday my BP had come to 102/63 so they were happy enough to let me go home at lunchtime.  We were hungry and decided to stop at Panera before leaving Columbus; however we got out of the car, started to walk through the parking lot when I looked at Yago and said “I think I’m going to fall or pass out if we go in there,” so needless to say we went back to the car and through a drive thru for lunch.  I was just so dizzy still from the pain meds I didn’t trust myself yet.  We made it home in 2 hours, Yago got my meds, gave me and the kids dinner, then unfortunately had an event he had committed to weeks ago so had to leave me and the kids a couple of hours from 7-9pm.  Thankfully the kids are getting so mature now at 5 and 6 1/2 that they watched TV, we read books from my spot on the couch, and they put themselves to bed.

So Friday I woke up and realized I didn’t feel as bad as I did after my left hip scope.  I had less hip pain and was able to bend at the waist and move my right hip waaaaaay more than with the other scope.  From my first day home I could sit on a regular toilet seat (vs use a raised commode over the toilet like with the last scope) and I could shave my legs on day 3 vs. day 10.  So, so crazy!  Friday evening we loaded everyone up to take me to see my myofascial therapist.  My sacrum was torqued as usual (it’s basically always torqued, hence my nerve pain which is still present and will continue to be until my hips get balanced-muscles on right side are shortened and tight, and on left weak and elongated), which she worked on a little, but really my neck muscles were killing me, so tight and causing migraine headaches.  I am hypermobile overall my joints, and I think when they put the tube in my throat for surgery they hyperextended my neck and spasmed out everything up there, and I had many cervical vertebrae rotated as well (yeah for hypermobile spine and joints-NOT!!).  She got me feeling a little better thankfully.  Today I spent most of the day like yesterday, on the couch with my GameReady ice machine, watching TV with the kids, painting a house for my Christmas village, doing some cross stitch, and reading books and playing games with the kids.  I did start on the bike, did about 6-7 minutes and also did about 15 minutes on my belly to stretch my hip flexors.  I start PT Monday and am taking it easy and doing what feels ok without overdoing it until then.  I was more stressed about things the last 2 surgeries, following the protocol to at T, doing exact times with everything, but because my pelvis is twisted and I still have the pain from that, I am doing what feel good for my body and not pushing it.  I did go to church tonight, my first and only outing this weekend, and it felt good to get out, but I did have a little more pain from the extra crutching, so I came home and put my GameReady back on and feel better now.

So to sum things up:  Things I can do…………….walk with crutches (even hobble a little without around the kitchen–shhhhhh!), get dressed on own (except shoe/sock on right leg), shower and shave my legs, get in/out of bed/couch on own, sit at 90 degrees with only a little pain, reach to floor to pick something up (although I am trying to be good and use my reacher), get onto floor and onto my stomach, bike a little, and sleep on my back and non-operated side with a bunch of pillows.

Things I can’t do yet: drive (boooo!), inject myself with the blood thinners (I’m way too freaked out, I have to have Yago do them for me), clean, walk without crutches, cook dinner, and paint my toenails:(.

Overall I would say my can do list is bigger, and it’s way more at this stage then with my last scope (I won’t even compare the PAO recovery as it’s like comparing a small cut to a life threatening hemorrhage).

So tonight at church our pastor was talking about faith a lot and trusting God and giving your life to him, taking that first step to following him.  I did that when I got baptized almost 2 years ago, and he’s allowed me to go through a lot of pain and suffering from then until now, but looking back I see him at every step along the way helping me through, guiding my next steps in diagnosis, pain management, surgeries and recoveries, in putting the right people in my life at the right time, in changing me from this selfish/perfectionistic/control freak/type A/jealous/body obsessed/etc…. individual, and how he has helped me to develop much more compassion for others, humility, patience, faith, and most importantly love-both for God and for others.  He has taught me to trust in him and to let go of the control I thought I had in my life, and in some ways it a relief to let go of the control, a huge sense of “ahhhhhhhh” like when you let out a long, deep breath you’ve been holding for 34 years.  I still have a long way to go (both spiritually and physically) with rehab of this hip, still more of the other hip, and fixing my twisted pelvis/torqued sacrum/horrid nerve pain I am almost at 2 years of carrying now, but I am trusting God will take me where I’m meant to be with this and carry me through all that needs to be.   So I am ending this posting the lyrics to a song I heard for the first time last week when we went to see Chris Tomlin in concert (who is awesome by the way!!).  The song is called “Sovereign” and really touched my heart and is exactly how I feel right now in my life.  I hope you read the lyrics, and/or YouTube this beautiful song.  Until next time…

“Sovereign” by Chris Tomlin

Sovereign in the mountain air

Sovereign on the ocean floor

With me in the calm

With me in the storm
Sovereign in my greatest joy

Sovereign in my deepest cry

With me in the dark

With me at the dawn
In your everlasting arms

All the pieces of my life

From beginning to the end I can trust you
In your never failing love

You work everything for good

God whatever comes my way I will trust you
Sovereign in the mountain air

Sovereign on the ocean floor

With me in the calm With me in the storm
Sovereign in my greatest joy

Sovereign in my deepest cry

With me in the dark With me at the dawn
In your everlasting arms

All the pieces of my life

From beginning to the end I can trust you
In your never failing love

You work everything for good

God whatever comes my way I will trust you
God whatever comes my way I will trust you

All my hopes All I need Held in your hands
All my life All of me Held in your hands
All my fears All my dreams Held in your hands
All my hopes All I need Held in your hands
All my life All of me Held in your hands
All my fears All my dreams Held in your hands

In your everlasting arms

All the pieces of my life From beginning to the end I can trust you
In your never failing love

You work everything for good God whatever comes my way I will trust you
God whatever comes my way I will trust you
God whatever comes my way I will trust you 

5 thoughts on “Right hip scope post op day 4

  1. I love you, sis! So happy you don’t need a right PAO! Praise God!! Your been through a lot over the last two years, but God has been with you every step of the way. Romans 8:28 is one of my favorite versus. “All things work together for good, to those that love God, to those called according to His purpose.” It’s so great to hear what you’re able to do post surgery and looking forward to seeing and hearing how your healing process continues. What a blessing you are. Love you!

    • Thank you sis, love you too!! God is with me each step of the way, bringing me to where he wants me to be in so many ways. Look up the song I posted about, it’s so beautiful. Can’t wait to see you in a couple of weeks!

  2. Julie,
    What an amazing young woman you are. God has amazing plans for your life and this is all part of the journey.

    Blessings,
    Darryl

  3. My dear Julie. It’s been a long way but knowing all what God has make in yourself I can tell it worth your time, pain, crying, etc. You are so an intelligent woman that I want to share with you this secret….God is OUR FATHER in Heaven and you know what all that brings AND we have A MOTHER in Heaven that is ALL LOVE too and understands us as WOMAN, MOTHER. VIRGIN MARY (Virgen del Pilar) as the second name of Catalina.
    Know more about Her, google Her, pray to Her. You will.love to have her beside you and understand you and protect you.
    Love you little sister♡. You are always in my prayers.

    • Thank you Edurne, I needed to be reminded of that this morning, I’ve been pretty depressed the last several days as my low back and nerve pain has gotten worse, so your words are a beautiful reminder that I am being watched from above and somehow I can continue forward through all of this. Love you and miss you, no matter what happens with me we will be in Guate in 2014 so we can spend time with you guys, even if Yago has to roll me off the plane in a wheelchair. Hugs to you and Mar.

Leave a Reply

